Career
WILLEM II TILBURG
The Flying Dutchman
"I was glad when I arrived at Tilburg and heard that Andreas Lasnik had just signed. I knew immediately that I could build our game on him." Gert Heerkes, former Willem II Tilburg manager
It is said that eventually everything comes back to you. At least it worked out for Andreas Lasnik. Aachen was the past and after recovering from his severe injury he wanted to look forward and face new challenges. It just so happened that an old friend from his time at Austria Vienna should lend him a helping hand.

“Delano Hill called me and asked if I could imagine playing in the Netherlands", Andreas Lasnik remembers. Since he had studied the tricks of Ajax Amsterdam for hours when he was still a child, he didn`t need to think twice about his answer. So Lasnik played on trial for a few Dutch teams. His new club Willem II Tilburg was not among them. They had already seen enough of him when the scouted him in Germany.

"It was a stroke of luck. I had almost missed an entire season because of my injury and hardly played in a year. So it was really special that a Dutch first division side wanted to have me without even a trial practice," the Styrian explains. And the club, that had played in the Champions League in 2001-02 and was former employer of well-known football players such as Jaap Stam, Sami Hyypia and Marc Overmars, showed from the start that they really believed in Lasnik. Something he had missed so painfully in Germany.

From the very beginning, Lasnik`s standing with his coach and his teammates was very high. Truth be told, Gert Heerkes was already interested in the Austrian when he was manager of Heracles Almelo. So he was quite happy when he finally got the chance to work with the midfielder. His strategy for the upcoming season was simple: Lasnik should concentrate completely on his role as playmaker and set up striker Frank Demouge. What started out so promising, would not last for long, because on the last day of the transfer window Utrecht offered Demouge a contract he could not resist.

The departure of his goalscorer was a slap in the face for Heerkes, because the striker had been the club`s life insurance in the past season. After the fat years in the European Cup Willem II was forced to cut costs and therefore promoted young talents rather than investing in new players. With the loss of their best striker they knew that the battle against relegation would be tougher than they expected.

Still, Heerkes tried to get the best out of his young squad. Strictly following the Dutch football school. "In Austria or Germany, coaches often try to show off your weaknesses. They are not saying that you are technically gifted, that you have a great shooting technique or that you are dangerous in the set-pieces. Instead they tell you that your headers are weak or that you should improve your tackling. In Holland they concentrate on the strengths, because they know that there are enough other players on a team that outweigh each others` weaknesses," says Andreas Lasnik.

After spending so many years with football, Lasnik knows very well about his own strengths and weaknesses. "It's not a secret that I am not the best when it comes to defense. But here I play on a position where I can fully focus on the offensive. This way I can make a difference and that is fully accepted by the team, the club and the fans. And I'll try to pay the club back for its belief in my skills as good as possible."

Lasnik has arrived in the “Eredivisie” very quickly. Although the results of Willem II Tilburg were poor from the beginning, his record is outstanding. He proved himself as the stereotype of a classical playmaker, the crowd is on his side and he is responsible for every offensive set-piece. What followed were a number of goals and assists. "I am slowly approaching the form that I had in my strongest time in Austria, but there is certainly still room for improvement."

Nevertheless, his coach scattered him roses anyway. "If Andreas continues to pursue his path as consistently, he has the stuff to one of the best attacking midfielders in the Dutch league ," Gert Heerkes is convinced. Due to the poor results the manager was replaced in April 2011 by his assistant John Feskens. For Lasnik it didn`t make any difference, he just continued showing outstanding performances.

Sometimes things are meant to be together. The Dutch “Eredivisie” and Andreas Lasnik seem to be such a combination. "Everything here is about football and the stadiums are always full. The fans support the team, no matter whether you succeed or not. Of course, they are sometimes dissatisfied and whistle, but they come anyway." And there is another aspect that plays an important role for his possible decision to stay in the Netherlands much longer. "You are simply accepted as a footballer."

Karriere
Willem II Tilburg
Der fliegende Holländer
"Ich war heilfroh, als ich nach Tilburg kam und Andreas Lasnik im Kader hatte. Ich wusste sofort, dass ich unser Spiel auf ihn aufbauen kann." Gert Heerkes, Ex-Trainer von Willem II Tilburg
Es heißt, dass im Leben alles irgendwann zurückkommt. So war es auch bei Andreas Lasnik. Sein Aachen-Engagement hatte er abgehakt, er wollte sich nach seiner schweren Verletzung wieder nach vorne orientieren. Und ausgerechnet ein alter Freund aus Austria Wien-Zeiten sollte ihm dabei unter die Arme greifen.

"Delano Hill meldete sich bei mir und fragte, ob ich mir vorstellen kann, in Holland zu spielen", erzählt Andreas Lasnik. Und wer sich daran erinnert, dass Lasnik als kleines Kind stundenlang die Technik-Tricks von Ajax Amsterdam studiert hatte, kann sich selbst ausmalen, wie seine Antwort lautete. So absolvierte Lasnik ein paar Probetrainings. Sein neuer Klub Willem II Tilburg war nicht darunter. Sie hatten schon genug von ihm bei den Beobachtungen in Deutschland gesehen.

"Es war ein Glücksfall. Schließlich war ich fast die ganze Saison davor verletzt gewesen und hatte in der zweiten deutschen Liga kaum gespielt. Dass dich dann ein Erstligist aus Holland gleich ohne Probetraining verpflichten will, ist schon etwas Besonderes", freute sich der Steirer. Und beim Klub, der in der Saison 2001/02 sogar noch in der Champions League spielte und früher bekannte Namen wie Jaap Stam, Sami Hyypiä oder Marc Overmars im Kader hatte, bekam er von Anfang an das Vertrauen geschenkt, das er in Aachen so schmerzlich vermisst hatte.

Beim Trainer hatte er von Beginn an ein gutes Standing, schließlich hätte ihn Gert Heekens schon gerne bei seinem früheren Klub Heracles Almelo gesehen. So kamen der Spielmacher und der Coach doch noch dazu, miteinander zu arbeiten. Der Plan sah folgendermaßen aus: Der Österreicher hatte als Spielmacher alle Freiheiten und sollte dafür Sturm-Tank Frank Demouge mit Vorlagen füttern. Was so vielversprechend begann, sollte aber nicht von langer Dauer sein, denn am letzten Tag der Transferzeit machte Utrecht den Tilburgern einen Strich durch die Rechnung und verpflichtete Demouge.

Für den damaligen Willem II-Trainer Heerkes war es ein Schlag ins Gesicht, denn der Stürmer war in der Vorsaison die Lebensversicherung der Mannschaft gewesen. Nach den fetten Jahren im Europacup war der Verein nämlich nun zum Sparen gezwungen und hatte radikal verjüngt. Ohne Goalgetter würde der Kampf um den Klassenerhalt in der Ehrendivision noch schwerer werden.

Trotzdem versuchte Heerkes das Beste aus seiner jungen Truppe herauszuholen. Ganz nach der holländischen Schule. "In Österreich oder Deutschland versuchen die Trainer oft, dir deine Schwächen aufzuzeigen. Sie sagen dir nicht, dass du technisch gut bist, eine super Schusstechnik hast oder gute Standards schießt. Dafür erzählen sie dir, dass dein Kopfballspiel schwach ist und dass du an deinem Defensivverhalten arbeiten musst. In Holland setzten sie hingegen voll auf deine Stärken, weil sie wissen, dass es in einer Mannschaft immer Spieler gibt, die mit ihren Vorzügen die Schwächen anderer Spieler ausgleichen", so Andreas Lasnik.

Er weiß inzwischen ganz genau wo seine eigenen Stärken und Schwächen liegen. "Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass es defensiv stärkere Spieler gibt als mich. Dafür spiele ich auf einer Position, bei der ich mich vor allem auf die Offensive konzentrieren kann. Dadurch kann ich Spiele entscheiden und das wird von der Mannschaft, vom Verein und den Fans akzeptiert. Und ich zahle es dem Verein auch so gut wie möglich zurück."

Lasnik ist in der Ehrendivision sehr schnell angekommen. Auch wenn die Ergebnisse von Willem II Tilburg von Anfang an zu wünschen übrig ließen, ist seine Bilanz hervorragend. Er war sofort unumstrittener Stammspieler, Publikumsliebling und für alle Standardsituationen zuständig. Was folgte waren Tore und etliche Assists. "Langsam nähere ich mich wieder der Form, die ich in meiner stärksten Zeit bei der Austria hatte, aber es ist sicher noch Luft nach oben."

Sein Trainer streute ihm jedenfalls Rosen. "Wenn Andreas seinen Weg weiterhin so konsequent verfolgt, hat er das Zeug, einer der besten Zehner in der holländischen Liga zu werden", ist Gert Heerkes überzeugt, der im Saisonfinish von seinem Assistenten John Feskens abgelöst wurde. Auch unter ihm spielte Lasnik eine tragende Rolle in der Mannschaft.

Manchmal passen Dinge einfach zusammen. Die holländische Ehrendivision und Andreas Lasnik scheinen eine solche Kombination zu sein. "Fußball geht hier über alles und die Stadien sind immer voll. Die Fans stehen zur Mannschaft, egal, ob du Erfolg hast oder nicht. Natürlich sind sie auch manchmal unzufrieden und pfeifen. Aber sie kommen trotzdem." Und einer der wichtigsten Punkte, weshalb er sich gut vorstellen kann, noch eine lange Zeit in den Niederlanden zu bleiben: "Du wirst als Fußballer einfach akzeptiert."